Board of Directors

Mr Robert Thomas

AM – B.Econ, MSAA, SF Fin, FAICD – Chairman

Mr Thomas has been a Director since December 2011 and was elected Chairman of the Company on 16th November 2012. Mr Thomas has more than 35 years’ experience in the securities industry. Mr Thomas is currently Chairman of TAL and the Stockbrokers Association of Australia and is a current Director and immediate past Non-Executive Chairman of HeartWare Limited and subsequently HeartWare International, Inc. a US medical device company listed on ASX and NASDAQ since 2004. He is also currently a Director of REVA Medical Limited, also a US medical device company listed on the ASX and is currently a Director of Virgin Australia Limited, the ASX listed Biotron Limited and Chairman of Gragher Securities. Between November 2004 and September 2008, Mr Thomas was a consultant to Citigroup Corporate and Investment Bank, was Chairman of Global Corporate and Investment Bank, Australia and New Zealand of Citigroup Global Markets Australia Pty Limited between March 2003 and September 2004. Between October 1999 and September 2003, he was CEO of Citigroup’s Corporate and Investment Bank Australia and New Zealand. He is a Fellow of Institute of Company Directors (FAICD). Mr Thomas is also President of the Library Council of NSW and is a member of the Advisory Board of Inteq Pty Ltd.

Mr Peter Bartels


Mr Bartels was appointed as a Non-Executive Director and Chairman of Aus Bio Limited on 11th February 2005. He retired from the Chair on 16th November 2012 and remains a Non-Executive Director. Mr Bartels is Chairman of the ASX listed Starpharma Holdings Limited and Chairman of the Dean’s External Advisory Committee for the faculty of Medicine, Dentistry and Health Science at the University of Melbourne. He is the immediate past Chairman of the Australian Sports Commission, the Australian Institute of Sport and the Commonwealth Heads of Government Committee for Sport and the Royal Women’s and Children’s Hospitals and was a Director of the Melbourne Business School (Melbourne University), and a member of the Business Council of Australia for eight years. Mr Bartels was previously CEO and Managing Director of Coles Myer Limited and before that CEO and Managing Director of Fosters Brewing Company Limited. He has had broad-based experience in the pharmaceutical industry with previous roles with DHA Pharmaceuticals and Abbott Laboratories Mr Bartels is Patron of the Australian Cycling Federation.

Mr Charles Farquharson

B.Com (Melb). SF FIN

Mr Farquharson has been a Director since the date of incorporation of the company on 3rd March 2000. Mr Farquharson has been involved in stockbroking for over 40 years. In 1970, he joined the partnership of A.C. Goode & Co. and became a member of the Australian Stock Exchange. More recently, he was Vice President of Merrill Lynch Private (Australia) and is now a Senior Investment Advisor with RBS Morgans Limited. He has many years’ experience dealing with “small cap” companies including equity raising and management issues.

Dr Peter J. Jenkins

M.B. B.S., F.R.A.C.P. – Executive Director, Management

Dr Jenkins has been a Director since the date of incorporation of the company on 3rd March 2000. Dr Jenkins is a consultant physician and gastroenterologist and has held or holds both clinical research positions within the Alfred Hospital and also the Baker Medical Research Institute, Melbourne. He has held the positions of Head, Clinical Business Unit Gastroenterology and Gastrointestinal Surgery and Clinical Dean at the Alfred Hospital for the Monash University Faculty of Medicine. He is also a past Chairman of the Committee of Chairman Senior Medical Staffs of Major Victorian Hospitals. Dr Jenkins is a Director of a number of private and public biotechnology companies, including the ASX listed Starpharma Limited where he is Deputy Chairman. He is a former Director and Chairman of Immuron (formerly Anadis Limited). Dr Jenkins is a former judge of the Australian Technology Awards. He is experienced in the issues and problems that face early stage biomedical research and development companies in Australia.

Mr Henry Kenneth Windle

B.Pharm (Otago)

Mr Windle has been a Director since 11th July 2002. Mr Windle is Chairman of the Aus Bio R&D Committee. Mr Windle is Chairman and CEO of Advent Pharmaceuticals Pty Ltd. He is a member of the Innovation Australia Board and a past Chairman of the Pharmaceuticals and Comet Committees. He is a Director of NZP. Other memberships include Board of Monash Faculty of Pharmacy Foundation. He was CEO of Glaxo Australia from 1986–95, and Regional Director Glaxo Wellcome Asia Pacific until 2001. He held a series of senior management and global positions in gsk including membership of the Company’s Group Executive Committee. Mr Windle has previously served as Consultant to the (Australian) Prime Minister’s Science Council on Industry Development, Director of the (Singapore) Economic Development Board, and (Singapore’s) Committee on Competitiveness, Chairman of Medicines Australia, a member of the Pharmaceuticals Industry Advisory Committee, and member of Pharmaceuticals Industry Action Agenda (PIAAG). He has twice been a winner of the Governor of Victoria Export Prize.

Dr Wen-Yang Wu

B.Sc.B. Eng. (Shanghai) PhD (Latrobe) – Executive Director, Research and Development

Dr Wu was appointed as a Director on 3rd September 2001. Following university graduation, Dr Wu worked as a research scientist at the Institute of Antibiotics in Shanghai, during which time he was involved in the discovery and design of new antibiotics including Rifampicin, Piperacillin and the Cephalosporins. Dr Wu came to Australia in the early 1980s. He completed his PhD at Latrobe University and worked as a post-doctoral fellow in Natural Product Chemistry at Australian National University. In the late 1980s, Dr Wu joined the anti-influenza research group at Victorian College of Pharmacy and had direct involvement in the design, and was instrumental in the eventual synthesis of the GlaxoWellcome anti-influenza compound now known worldwide as Relenza®. From 1995 to 2001, Dr Wu was the Senior Principal Research Fellow at Biota Holdings Limited. He was awarded the Biota prize in 1997 and received the Clunies Ross National Science and Technology Award for his contribution to Australian science in 2000. Dr Wu’s research interests include drug design and synthesis, natural product chemistry and the development of new antibiotics and other chemo-therapeutic agents.